News

Facebook Users Must Download “Moments App” To Keep Uploaded Mobile Pictures

facebook

Photo Credit: Google

You might not know this, but photos that you privately synced from your smartphone to Facebook will soon be sent to the digital trash can.

Earlier this year, these images were moved to Moments, an app from Facebook that allows you to organize and privately share your photos from your phone. Right now, these images also exist in the “Synced” or “Synced from Phone” section in your Facebook photos tab, according to Facebook’s site.

If these are pictures there you want to keep, you’d better download the Moments app through Google Play or the Apple App Store before July 7. Otherwise, Facebook is planning to purge the photos.

What if you don’t want the Moments app, but still want to save the photos? Well, then you can download these photos straight from your Facebook and save them on your computer. To download a synced photo, click on the photo you want to download, select “options” at the bottom of the image and then choose “download.” It’s that simple.

The phone-syncing function was launched in 2012 to make it easy to share these photos online at a later time if you didn’t want them immediately uploaded to your profile. This feature is being phased out because Facebook wants to place the emphasis on Moments.

The Moments app has been around for about a year now. It can scan your images to pinpoint familiar faces and identify them with specific Facebook friends. The app also allows users to group images by events, and share them directly with the people who are tagged.

Source: CBS News

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Most Popular

To Top