He’s Back!!! Boy George Announces North American Tour


Break out the top hats and blue eyeliner! Boy George is going on tour in support of his first studio album in 18 years, This Is What I Do (out March 25).

He kicks off in Philly on April 18 and wraps up the eight-date tour in Los Angeles on April 29.

Culture Club won’t be with him, but a nine-piece band, which includes a brass section as well as backing vocalists, will be.

Boy George hasn’t been completely off the grid since his last studio album, Cheapness and Beauty (1995). He was a house DJ of some renown, and has released a dance album, an acoustic album and he made a musical, Taboo. He reunited with Culture Club in 2012, but no word yet on whether they’re still together.

For this album, he teamed up with producer Youth (Martin Glover), who’s also a part of Paul McCartney’s band The Fireman and has worked with U2 and Depeche Mode.

“I wanted to make a baggy album, not overproduced, and I think I have achieved it. I was listening to things like Beast Of Burden by The Stones, and I had my head most definitely in the ’70s … I was also writing from a happy place. This time, no ex-lovers to get revenge on. For me Bigger Than War sums up the tone,” says George in a press release.

April tour dates


18 – The Theater of the Living Arts – Philadelphia

19 – Royale Nightclub – Boston

21 – 9:30 Club – Washington, D.C.

22 – Irving Plaza – New York City

24 – Danforth Music Hall – Toronto

26 – House of Blues – Chicago

28 – The Fillmore – San Francisco

29 – The Belasco – Los Angeles

The first single, the modestly titled King of Everything, is out now.

Check out his latest video



Source: USA Today

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Most Popular

To Top