Ear Hustle

Gov. Deal declares state of emergency in North Georgia


ATLANTA — Georgia Gov. Nathan deal has declared a state of emergency for 45 north Georgia counties due to a Winter Storm Warning that goes into effect Monday night.

Deal announced Monday morning that he will expand the state of emergency to additional counties as needed.

Counties currently included in the alert are Banks, Cherokee, Dawson, Fannin, Forsyth, Gilmer, Hall, Jackson, Lumpkin, Murray, Pickens, Towns, Union, and White.

He will also gather the Operations Command — which includes the director of GEMA, the DOT, State Patrol and Natural Resources — at 11 a.m. Monday. The state’s Emergency Operation Center will stay open until the emergency response ends.

In a release, Deal encouraged north Georgia and metro Atlanta residents to “stay off the roads if at all possible (Monday afternoon) so that we limit traffic and make way for workers to treat the highways.”

MORE WINTER WEATHER STORIES * An up-to-the-minute list of closings and delays * Weather Q&A: 11Alive answers your questions * Atlanta residents prepare for possible winter storms


Source:  11 Alive.com

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Most Popular

To Top